Tommy Thompson Trophy

First awarded in 1989, the prize is in honour of the memory of a club founding member, long-time instructor and club official Thomas W. Thompson. It is awarded annually on the recommendation of instructors to the pilot considered to have made the greatest improvement advance in their flying skills and achievements for the year. It is presentedat an AGM.

Past and present Geelong Gliding Club members who have been awarded the Tommy Thompson Trophy For the Most Most Improved Pilot.

Year Pilot
2023 Gary Campbell
2022 Adrian Turner
2021 Ádám István Mechler
2020 Andrew Davey
2019 Hamid Nazari
2018 Steven McAvoy
2017 Noah Fisher
2016 Paul Jackson
2015 Dale Perkins
2014 Andrzej Wróblewski 
2013 John Lawson 
2012 Alf McMillan
2011 Ailsa McMillan
2010 Justin Ramsay 
2009 Ales Rajch
2008 Souie Imam
2007 Andrew Murphy
2006 not awarded
2005 Jan Bidstrup
2004 Andrew Murphy
2003 Greg O'Sullivan
2002 Kim Power
2001 *
2000 *
1999 *
1998 Frank Williams (TBC)
1997 *
1996 *
1995 Mark Simpson
1994 *
1993 not awarded
1992 Oliver Webb
1991 Jodie Tyler
1990 Veronica Graff
1989 Jeff Farrow

  * indicates insufficient information available to confirm the award recipient.

If you have any additional information you wish to be included on this page or correct any errors, please contact the Webmaster.